View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 26, 2015, 09:41pm
Kelvin green Kelvin green is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
BillyMac is right, the OP situation is not exactly the same. There are a lot of ways one could interpret this. I agree with Kelvin that if you don't blow the whistle when the goal is scored at the wrong basket, but you're able to recognize it during the throw-in by white, then you can blow the whistle, issue the DOG, and give the ball to blue to continue as normal. But here, that throw-in by white ended, so it's too late for DOG.

The "almost the same" case play says, "This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball." In this case, a mistake did in fact allow the wrong team to inbound the ball, and this throw-in was not administered by an official. So from a logic standpoint, this process could apply.

Then you have to go back up to the front of the case play where it says, "The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation [I recognize that I'm blurring the lines of 'specific' here] if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins..." So in the OP case, had the opponents not gained control, I think you could at least argue that you get a do over, complete with cancelling fouls and putting consumed time back on and all that.

However, in this case, the opponents do gain control, so ultimately I think this is just an officials' error (failed to stop play when they should have and didn't recognize it until it was too late) and we just have to eat it. White gets 2 points for the blue wrong basket, and then after the steal the white foul stands and blue gets free throws at its basket.
I will have to disagree...
You can't say the throw in ended by white ( and thus no delay) because you never had a legal throw in.

The ball by rule never became live after the made basket.... The only way the ball becomes live is if it is at the disposal of the player making the throwin.

White interferes with the play, Blue can't throw it in, blue can't make the ball live properly. So by letting the play go ( and eating it) you have a whole bunch of nonsense while the ball is dead. ...gotta have a legit throwin here that never happened.

I would rather see a whistle here, have the officials sort it out. Even calling it inadvertent gets the game out of a mess. You can stop the game here to make sure the score is correct in the book.. Whatever the reason stop the game and get it back on track...

The foul is now a dead ball foul ( foul is a T) and the game has turned into a mess, sorry but I can't buy that we have to let it go...

Who will complain if we stop and get it right or approximately right? Who will complain that we let a game turn into a fiasco with a decision that can be supported by rule less than stopping the game for us to get it back?

Definitions and knowing when ball becomes live or dead is very important here.
Reply With Quote