Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1
inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket.
RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation
if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next
throw-in begins: ....... This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in
which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team
to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d)
|
BillyMac is right, the OP situation is not exactly the same. There are a lot of ways one could interpret this. I agree with Kelvin that if you don't blow the whistle when the goal is scored at the wrong basket, but you're able to recognize it during the throw-in by white, then you can blow the whistle, issue the DOG, and give the ball to blue to continue as normal. But here, that throw-in by white ended, so it's too late for DOG.
The "almost the same" case play says, "This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball." In this case, a mistake did in fact allow the wrong team to inbound the ball, and this throw-in was not administered by an official. So from a logic standpoint, this process could apply.
Then you have to go back up to the front of the case play where it says, "The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation [I recognize that I'm blurring the lines of 'specific' here] if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins..." So in the OP case, had the opponents not gained control, I think you could at least argue that you get a do over, complete with cancelling fouls and putting consumed time back on and all that.
However, in this case, the opponents do gain control, so ultimately I think this is just an officials' error (failed to stop play when they should have and didn't recognize it until it was too late) and we just have to eat it. White gets 2 points for the blue wrong basket, and then after the steal the white foul stands and blue gets free throws at its basket.