Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.
The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.
|
Or a carry....since a carry is just the ending of one dribble by allowing the ball to come to rest in a hand (holding it) and the immediate start of another dribble.
Remember that double (illegal) dribble and carry were once, not all that long ago, the same violation. They only split out carry to improve the communication of what happened. They did not a change the rules of what was or was not legal.