View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 03, 2015, 09:36am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by starmanhoops View Post
I can't find this in the rule book... Inbounding from out of bounds a player has 5 seconds to release the ball from out of bounds onto the court...correct?
At this point the rule is satisfied...correct? There is no requirement for anyone to touch it within the 5 second count..right? Which is why it's legal to roll it in and nobody sometimes touches it for 7-10 seconds. So if it is in the backcourt
the 10 second count also starts when there is a touch on the court and not before? The game clock always starts on the touch inbounds. All accurate?
Not quite. The 10 second backcourt count starts when player/team control is established in bounds in the backcourt. IOW, the player has to do more than touch it. (NFHS, I believe that's different in the NCAA)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote