Quote:
Originally posted by Warren Willson
[QUOTEI take your point about the prior agreement, Scott, but I'm NOT so sure I'd agree that it was a good agreement to make.- The approved professional mechanic has that call belonging to the BU - UDP Manual For The Two-Umpire System, p16.
- With the bounding ball hit down the foul line between home and 1st base, the BU should move down the line toward 1st base to make that FAIR/FOUL call. Standing motionless in position A, or moving infield before the ball has reached the base, is NOT recommended on any batted ball that has not yet been declared FAIR or FOUL.
I take the point that changing the call should have been no problem in that it deflected into dead ball territory. That was information that you did not include in your original post. My points were more intended as a general reflection of what SHOULD happen, and not as any sort of direct criticism of your actions on the day.
Cheers
|
Warren, I appreciate what you have to offer in the way of advice and know the old UDP mechanic but differ from that view on occassion. (isn't it great to have an opinion)
I did indeed include the deflection into dead ball territory in my original post, hopefully you are more attentive in game situations. :^)
Have a good day.