Quote:
Originally posted by eureka25
By the previous posts, I am to conlcude that this is a judgement call on the umpire to determine intent of a third base coach, runner or retired runner if they were trying to aid the runner.
|
It is not illegal for one runner to assist another runner.
Quote:
So is this a true statement - Incidental contact with a third base {coach} does not necessarily put a runner out, unless the coach "assists" that runner in the umpire's judgement.
Jeff
|
Correct, but remember, assistance from a coach can take many forms - trying to get the runner to pay attention, trying to get the runner to hold up, trying to get the runner to continue, etc. Avoiding all contact is the best policy for the coach, but if a runner has a clear shot to home, and running wide collides with the coach, that would not be assistance by the coach. After the collision, if the coach helps the runner get to his feet, or grabs the runner to keep him at 3rd, etc., then that would be assistance. And you are correct, it is a judgment call.