Quote:
There are several issues to note about the situation with which you were faced.- Once the ball hits the base that's the BU's FAIR/FOUL call! PU only has up to but NOT including the base. Your partner got it wrong on TWO counts!
- Since it was a call that can't normally be changed - ie. FOUL to FAIR - it may have been better not to intervene at that time. There was nothing to be achieved.
-
|
No problems Warren,
We had agreed in our pregame that bounding balls and line drives are the PU calls, so the ball hitting the bag was definately his call.
I am not a disciple of the bounding ball being the BU's call. At 10-15 feet behind the bad and 3-5 feet off the line, there is no way I can accurately call that nor will I. That is a foolish call in my book that puts the Ump crew in peril.
The call being changed should have been no problem since the ball went into dead ball territory.
Heading off the coach was just preventive umping to keep the riot to a minimum. One of the coaches is a well known and respected coach who actually knows the rules of the game