Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966
4:48 second half. A held ball is called, and then action afterwards. A Duke player shoves an Albany player, who then responds verbally. Both players are assessed technical fouls. They ended up resuming play at the POI, which was the AP throw-in. My question is: since this is a situation with a single contact dead ball technical foul, wouldn't the proper enforcement have been: 1) Duke shoots two for the unsporting T, 2) Albany shoots two for the CDBTF, 3) Albany gets ball at POI?
|
Yes, actually! From the NCAAW rule set:
PENALTY: (Arts. 1 through 12-, excluding 1.c) Two free throws awarded to the offended team for a single player/substitute technical foul and play is resumed at the point of interruption. For double player/substitute technical fouls that do not include [a CDBT], no free throws are awarded and play is resumed at the point of interruption. For double player/substitute technical fouls when only one of the fouls includes [a CDBT], the offenders are awarded two free throws and play is resumed at the point of interruption with a throw-in to the offended team for the contact dead ball technical foul....
The only thing I can think of for the assessment that they administered was that V12's "handsy" reaction to being shoved was itself deemed a CDBT.
I'm surprised they didn't look this over at the table.