View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 20, 2015, 03:01pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Just because you say I'm wrong doesn't make it so. The rule says contact is to be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Nothing more...nothing less. Nothing about dead ball contact having to equate to a intentional/flagrant personal foul.

But then we have to ask what is intentional or flagrant. For the most part, this is going to deal with excessive contact during a dead ball. We almost never officiate in absolutes...what is excessive in one situation would be common foul in another.
From the Fed:

ART. 7

A player shall not:

Intentionally or flagrantly contacting (sic) an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul.


Nowhere in the rule book does it state that dead ball "intentional" equals the actions that would be "intentional" if the ball were live.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Mar 20, 2015 at 03:05pm.
Reply With Quote