Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
That is a separate specific violation. 4-15-2 says you can bat ball in air provided it strikes floor before hitting it again with hand. That play is just an example of that rule. The violation is from touching it again with the hand.
Here, a first dribble ended. you now are holding the ball. you throw it to the floor few feet ahead of you. What is that? Dribble rule says dribble starts by throwing ball to floor. doesnt say how far away etc. But it could be a pass...we dont know what it was until we see what happens next. If i touch it, i call the original throw to floor a pass. if you touch it before anyone else then i call it a dribble. That's the "provided he is first to touch it" in those case plays.
What i will say about the other play is that the rule writers said words "touched" and "hand" together there. They didnt in these plays i've mentioned. That says to me it is not limited to the hand in these. thx
|
With regard to a dribble, I take it to mean
touch as a positive action. This being as opposed to "touched or is touched by" as in a backcourt. I think in this case a dribble requires a deliberate touch of the ball.
Coach A yells to A1: "Come take the point." A2 stands holding the ball, having already used his dribble. A1 approaches. A2 drops the ball straight to the floor, to be picked up by A1. A2 starts to go one way, then changes direction and the ball brushes against his leg.
You would call this a violation?