
Thu Feb 19, 2015, 08:39am
|
 |
Keeper of the HAMMER
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968
Case Book 4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or request a time-out from that position.
The often repeated discussion here on the forum, is whether going from two knees in contact with the floor, to one knee, constitutes a traveling violation.
One side says that that move is an attempt to stand. The other side says that this play, in the Case Book, indicates that to stand means to go to a position of both feet on the floor, and no knee touching.
|
Sorry, but regardless of which side one comes down on, I don't see any way this case congress close to answering the question.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
|