Thread: Traveling
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2015, 02:05am
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Case Book 4.44.5 SITUATION D: A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling violation? RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or request a time-out from that position.

The often repeated discussion here on the forum, is whether going from two knees in contact with the floor, to one knee, constitutes a traveling violation.
One side says that that move is an attempt to stand. The other side says that this play, in the Case Book, indicates that to stand means to go to a position of both feet on the floor, and no knee touching.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Thu Feb 19, 2015 at 02:48am.
Reply With Quote