Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
I didn't get any interest on this (below) as a slight twist in the recent "NFHS Closely Guarded Rule History" thread, so I figured I would give it a try as it's own thread.
This was on an IAABO Refresher Exam about fifteen years ago. B1 closely guards ball handler A1. A1 dribbles around a screen legally set by A2, screener A2 is momentarily between A1, and B1, but B1 is still within six feet of A1 the entire time. Five seconds elapse and the official calls a five second closely guarded violation on A1. Is the official correct?
It's kind of fuzzy, but I thought that I answered, "Yes", and got it wrong. IAABO may have admitted that it was a bad answer, and I believe that it was due to a difference between the NCAA rule, and the NFHS rule. IAABO confused? Who would have guessed?
What is the right answer for NFHS, and is it any different for NCAA?
|
Good morning Bill:
I hope you are getting unburied from all of the snow you guys are getting. The temperature here is -8F with a wind chill of -25F.
Any who! The correct ruling for both NFHS and NCAA would be that a new count starts. I cannot see how an IAABO Interpreter would rule otherwise.
We haven't had much snow lately (but we still have a lot on the ground). Mark, Jr., and I had a boys' JrHS DH at 9am yesterday and we had one 3 mile stretch of country road on the drive back home where we had white out conditions and came across one car that had driven off the road into a drainage ditch.
But the temperature has been steadily dropping since yesterday morning. Mark's game last night (girls' JV) was rescheduled for Monday night because of the low temperature and wind chill. His partner can't officiate that night so I am his new partner, poor kid.
We are supposed to officiate in a boys' 5th/6th grade tournament today at 1pm, but are wondering if it will be canceled because of the temperature and wind chill.
Have a great day everybody!
MTD, Sr.