View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 02:37pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
NFHS 10-3-2: A player shall not: Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds. PENALTY: (Section 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.


Adam:

I do not understand why you would not call this TF?

MTD, Sr.
I may or may not depending on the play.

If the player throws the ball in and the play is 20 feet ahead of him and he lazily trots down the sideline (OOB) and eventually comes back in such that he is no part of the play, I'm not calling anything.

On the other hand, if there is a throwin on the endline and the player runs across the endline after throwing the ball in and pops inbounds to receive a return pass for an open shot....getting that.

The case/rule talks about "Purposely and/or deceitfully". If I don't see a purpose or deceit in the player's actions, no T. Lazy or sloppy is not purposeful or deceitful.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 03:46pm.
Reply With Quote