Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
Sideline out-of-bounds in the backcourt. Player inbounds the ball to his teammate and then runs up the sideline out-of-bounds about 15-20 feet and then comes on the court. He passed behind the official as he was running up the sideline out-of-bounds. Did the official hand him the ball on the wrong side?
I thought it should have been called, but not really a big advantage gained. They were walking the ball up the court.
|
Probably ... I can't see how this could happen otherwise. Official should be trailing the play, on the side closer to the opponents basket than the thrower is. An official who doesn't know what side of the thrower to administer the throw in probably has no clue about the rule involving a delay in returning to the court.