
Tue Jan 27, 2015, 01:58pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref
Once the official deems the ball is at the disposal of the thrower and has reasonable time to take the ball OOB, the throw-in begins once the official begins the throw-in count.
4-4
ART. 7
A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
4.42.3 SITUATION:
Following a goal by A1 the ball is: (a) inadvertently deflected under the bleachers; (b) bouncing on the court just outside the end line as B1 makes his/her way toward the ball; or (c) lying on the court just outside the end line as B1 delays the inbound by getting instruction from his/her coach. When does the throw-in begin and the ball become live?
RULING: In (a), the official shall signal for the clock to be stopped. The throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is at the disposal of Team B. In (b) and (c), the throw-in begins and the ball becomes live when it is available to B1 and the official begins the throw-in count. In (c), the throw-in count begins when the official determines B1 has had ample time to secure the ball; it need not be in B1's possession. (4-4-7d)
|
This is not really relevant to the OP. Apples and oranges.
|