People will probably disagree with me, but I think we're all focusing on the wrong foot as the pivot foot here. Watch carefully when the player ends the dribble (gathers). At that moment, the right foot is flat on the ground and the left foot is either in the air or the left toe is barely touching. Assuming the C/new T thought the left foot was airborne, if he judges the right foot to be the pivot then it's an easy travel call.
That said, I don't like the official's mechanics. For one thing he appears lackadaisical. On another note, with the L rotating while a play is going on right in front of him, he shouldn't be in a hurry to move up and away from that play. Nothing wrong with two Cs at times.
The game is always going toward the basket because the last time I checked, that's where you score. Yet many of us, especially during a 3-man rotation, are eager to move away from what we're officiating. Yeah, we're gonna get beat in transition once in a while. So what? I'd rather be in the right position 95% of the time if it means getting beat the other 5%.
|