View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2015, 11:59pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
That is certainly the general rule but when errors are involved you need the whistle to tell you what to do and what you can do. Ex. A1 fouled in act. awarded 2 FT. One shot and missed. all forget a second shot due. B rebounds, goes down and scores. Then whistle blown, error recognized. It is correctable but we know the basket by B is not cancelled. Points scored before it recognized count. If A would have inbounded the ball after B basket the error wouldnt be correctable at all. B basket counts and A doesnt get its other free throw. All of this even though a free throw to be followed by another was missed. The whistle matters.
What you describe is failure to award a merited free throw. This has nothing to do with the OP. In the OP, a player mistakenly grabbed a dead ball and put it in the basket. At this point the officials stopped the action and rectified the situation, though in my opinion more mistakes were made at this point.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote