View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2015, 08:15am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
If my memory serves me correcty (and sometimes it doesn't anymore, ), there was a long thread discussing this A.R. last year. The discussion centered around the sentence: "B1 fouls A1 as A1 picks up his dribble."

The question was: What does "picks up his dribble" mean? We know (NFHS and NCAA) that a Player that is dribbling the ball cannot be in the Act of Shooting. A1 must end his dribble befofre the Act of Shooting can begin. Many of us thought the wording in the A.R. was poor, but that the A.R.'s Ruling implied that A1 had not ended his dribble before he was fouled therefore he was not in the Act of Shootng. What Camron is saying (and it is not my intent to put words in his mouth) and I concur that the NCAA A.R. is consistent with a Player being fouled before ending his dribble has not been fouled in the Act of Shooting which both NFHS and NCAA Rules tell us.

It should be further stated that there is more than one way for a Player who is dribbling the Ball to end his Dribble: 1) touching the ball simultaneously with both hands; 2) catching the ball with both hands; and 3) touching the ball with one hand and then the other hand before the ball returns to the floor, are just a few ways for a Player to end his Dribble.

MTD, Sr.
We have been explicitly told that "raising the ball with the hand(s) and/or arms to shoot a layup" needs to happen for it to be considered continuous motion.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote