Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
NCAA-Men's memo dated February 17, 2014:
Play 2- A1 is dribbling the ball and attempts to turn the corner at the top of the key to drive down the lane. B1 fouls A1 as A1 picks up his dribble. A1 then steps with his right foot and then pushes off with his left foot before beginning to raise his arm(s) or hand(s) to release the ball for a layup. The try is successful.
Ruling- The foul occurred before the act of shooting began. Therefore, the goal should not count. Charge B1 with a personal foul and shoot appropriate free throws if Team A is in the bonus. Rule 5-1.10 and 4-8.1.
Comment-The language of 5-1.10, “The try starts when the player begins the motion that normally precedes the release of the ball”, refers to the hand(s)/arm(s) in preparing to release the ball on a try for goal. Examples of the act of shooting motion includes raising the ball with the hand(s) and/or arms to shoot a layup or jump shot or the downward motion of the hand(s) or arm(s) in completing a dunk or alley-oop play. This act of shooting motion does not include but is not limited to picking up the dribble, catching (gathering) the ball, or advancing on the court with one or both feet
The case book appears to have been updated off-cycle this past summer.
|
If my memory serves me correcty (and sometimes it doesn't anymore,

), there was a long thread discussing this A.R. last year. The discussion centered around the sentence: "
B1 fouls A1 as A1 picks up his dribble."
The question was: What does "picks up his dribble" mean? We know (NFHS and NCAA) that a Player that is dribbling the ball cannot be in the Act of Shooting. A1 must end his dribble befofre the Act of Shooting can begin. Many of us thought the wording in the A.R. was poor, but that the A.R.'s Ruling implied that A1 had not ended his dribble before he was fouled therefore he was not in the Act of Shootng. What Camron is saying (and it is not my intent to put words in his mouth) and I concur that the NCAA A.R. is consistent with a Player being fouled before ending his dribble has not been fouled in the Act of Shooting which both NFHS and NCAA Rules tell us.
It should be further stated that there is more than one way for a Player who is dribbling the Ball to end his Dribble: 1) touching the ball simultaneously with both hands; 2) catching the ball with both hands; and 3) touching the ball with one hand and then the other hand before the ball returns to the floor, are just a few ways for a Player to end his Dribble.
MTD, Sr.