View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 03:28am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Re: follow-up

Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
Had this sitch recently in 12U boys game using Fed rules with regular officials from a local association in northern VA
.2 seconds on clock

we are shooting 2 FT for double bonus

we pulled our players from lane, SO DID DEFENSE...

ref administered ft's (Made both but I was waiting to see if official would call lane violation in case we missed.

Your post does not make this exactly clear, but if there was not a time-out or intermission before your team shot these free throws, the free throws should never have been administered.
The defense is only allowed to be absent from the bottom two lane spaces if the resuming-play procedure is in effect, which is only after a time-out or intermission. Otherwise, it is an immediate technical foul.
Any quality official will order the defense to fill these two spaces when necessary and only charge a T if the defense refuses to do as asked.
Of course, if you shot the free throws after a TO then the officials did it properly and you also correctly stated that the first miss would have only been a violation, but had you missed on the substitute throw, it would have been a T.
Reply With Quote