follow-up
Had this sitch recently in 12U boys game using Fed rules with regular officials from a local association in northern VA
.2 seconds on clock
we are shooting 2 FT for double bonus
we pulled our players from lane, SO DID DEFENSE...
ref administered ft's (Made both but I was waiting to see if official would call lane violation in case we missed.
Defense is granted TO after 2nd made throw, we are up by 2
Here's where it gets funny...
Ref 1 tries to give throw-in to defense at division line.
I suggested this was not the NBA and after consulting with partner the ball went back to end line.
I then asked him if there was enough time for catch and shoot, or just a tap.
I don't expect an official to volunteer this info but I think I was entitled to some acknowledgement to my legitimate question. I knew the answer but I wanted to make sure my team would not be penalized if we deployed defense against "hail mary pass" into the lane, in the case of a tap, or did we need to challenge any shot?
Based on the lack of response from both officials, we did the latter. Luckily the catch and shoot was not successful.
How would you have responded to my question asking for confirmation of this time-specific rule??
Had the try been successful, what are my chances of winning a protest? I think this is not a judgement call and the rule is designed to eliminate any judgement beside determining if it was a try or tap.
Thanks
|