Thread: Throw-in
View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2015, 08:10am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9.2.1 SITUATION B: A1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-in: (a)
muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) after receiving the ball
from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the
fumble. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations
and then start the throw-in procedure again. No throw-in violation should
be called in this situation. In (b), a throw-in violation shall be called on A1 for
leaving the designated spot.

Nice citation, but this play doesn't tell us what to do if he doesn't leave the designated spot?
Continue doing what you were doing, which was counting to 5.

Obviously, by stating that we call a violation for A1 leaving the spot, there is a time between the fumble and violation that we are not supposed to anything but continue counting.

A lot better question to advance the conversation would be, "can Team A call a time-out after the fumble?"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Jan 13, 2015 at 08:13am.
Reply With Quote