View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2015, 08:28am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
IAABO mechanics require us to tell, and signal, both when the player can, and can't, run the endline on all backcourt endline throwins.

I suggest that rookie officials be careful regarding exactly what they say:

Things Officials Should Probably Not Be Saying In A Game

"Don't move”, said to an inbounding player, by an official, before a designated spot throw-in, is another statement that should probably go unsaid. According to the rules, that player can move laterally within a three foot wide area, can jump up, and can move as far back as time, and space, will allow. Better statement: “Designated spot”, while pointing to the spot.
"You can run", "Spot". Those 2 phrases clearly convey what the thrower-in can do, and neither has ever caused confusion in any game I've worked.

Question: Doesn't the book also say that you should notify the defense?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote