
Mon Jan 05, 2015, 07:24pm
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
First, we want to apply:
NHFS Casebook Play 6.4.1 Situation D(a): It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternation possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A commits a throw-in violation. RULING: Once the throw-in ends it is too late to change anything. The throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession.
Therefore, in the OP, the AP Throw-in ended when it was legally touched by B2. But Team A will retain the AP Arrow. And you can tell Team A's HC that his team is going to get two of the next three AP Arrows.
And Billy is probably correct. LOL!
There is something to be said to putting the Ball back into play with a Jump Ball,  .
MTD, Sr.
P.S. The Caseball Play had Teams A and B reversed from the OP and I switched them around in my mind while composing my OP.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes, I think so.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
the case play does--6.4.1 sit D--ARROW MISTAKE
team Bs TURN for next AP throw in under the procedure. by mistake, team A is given that throw in. Team A (a) commits throw in violation.
Ruling --once the throw in ends-it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw in ends when team A violates and results in a throw in for team B AS WELL AS THE ARROW FOR THE NEXT ALTERNATING POSSESSION.
(arrow remains with B)
|
See my OP in this thread (Post #4), I give the NFHS Casebook Play and it is applicable to NCAA Men's and Women's and I would guess since FIBA has gone to AP it would be a good guide line for FIBA.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|