View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 03, 2015, 02:23pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisNE View Post
Over and back or not?s

While bringing the ball up the court A1 has the ball in the front court, passes to A2 who is airborne and has not made contact yet with the front court floor?

Same scenario as above, but the ball does not leave the front court, but A2 has still not contacted the floor in the frontcourt prior to catching the pass?

3rd scenario, A1 passes to A2; however, this time airborne A2 is in physical contact with B1 who is in the front court?

My understanding is in the first 2 scenarios there would be a violation, because A2 has not established themselves in the frontcourt until actually touching the front court floor. However, in the 3rd scenario since A1 is touching B2 who is considered in the front court there is no violation.

Thoughts. I couldnt seem to find what I was looking for in the rules book.

Thanks
Even the 3rd is a violation. Touching another player doesn't affect a player's status. Only the last point on the floor that they touched is relevant. A2 is in the backcourt, having last touched the court in the backcourt. Touching B2 doesn't matter.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote