cmathews...Thanks. I understand PSK as it exists in NCAA rules and at least there it's consistently defined throughout their rule book and their ARs (case book). I've officiated it in NCAA games and I agree with you 100% that it's easy. The Fed is making it difficult because everywhere in their documents that they describe it, they do it in a different way, especially on when during the down PSK potentially begins. In NCAA it's simple: it's applicable on scrimmage kick plays (a defined term) any time from the snap until the kick ends.
And do you recall from your pilot last season whether or not PSK applied when a kick crossed the NZ and then rebounded back behind the NZ (assuming of course that all other PSK criteria were met)? In NCAA rules, such a situation is enforced under PSK. Obviously, it would be assessed as a spot foul.
__________________
Bob M.
|