Video Request: Wichita St. vs. GWU (Diamond Head Classic Championship)
12/25/14, ESPN2, after inbound at 17:25 in the 2nd half.
Good non-BI no call by the officials. Rim was accidentally grabbed by defender while shot was in the cylinder and the backboard vibrated for quite a while. Rim returned to steady state long before the shot came down on it. GWU coach screamed for BI, but to no avail.
This happens frequently in my HS games and....well, sorry coach, but there's no rules coverage there. Maybe there should be, but that's an issue for rules committees to take up on another day.
If you listen on, I think the announcers jacked up their assessment completely. That said, I'll humor them. Suppose the rim grab/grasp was intentional. Then what do you have? I still think nothing. If the ball was dead, different story (because dunking/stuffing or grasping the rim with the ball is dead is a T). Thoughts?
Last edited by crosscountry55; Thu Dec 25, 2014 at 10:42pm.
|