
Wed Dec 17, 2014, 11:04am
|
 |
Keeper of the HAMMER
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Somebody point me back toward where in a book (I'd love an NCAA-W book(s) reference, but anything will do) to where the case plays for "the official shall wait until the layup is successful/unsuccessful to assess the technical foul, yadayada" is supported by a rule reference that contradicts:
"Art. 2. A live ball shall not become dead when a foul is committed by an opponent of a player who starts a try for goal before a foul occurs, provided that time does not expire before the ball is in flight."
Haven't thought about that in a couple of years, can't find things, and want to know where that lives, so that I can explain how the cited rule doesn't for some reason include the HC as an "opponent."
|
Found it.
Case 10.4.1 F
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule Book
A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle the situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blowing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess ...a technical foul....
|
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
|