View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 12:47am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
Even if A2 was fouled after the buzzer, you could still have a shooting foul if A2 was an airborne shooter. Pretty sure this is also the case in NCAA, perhaps the only case where, with the benefit of checking time on a monitor, you'd be shooting free throws for a personal foul with no time left in the second half.

Under all Rules sets (NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, FIBA, and NBA/WNBA, the answer is yes and no.

If A2,while airborne, is still in control of the ball when the buzzer sounds to end the period and then is "fouled" by B2, there is no foul. If A2 releases the ball prior to the buzzers sounds to end the period, then you can have foul by B2 against A2.

It is past my bedtime so Good Night all.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote