This seems to be a favorite question chosen by those writing state rules tests. Was on our state test a couple of years ago for about the second or third time since the interp came out a while back.
Not wishing to be over-critical . . .
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
In-game, I would almost certainly not call a violation in this situation.
|
-- That's not much of a basis for a correct rule interpretation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
I don't think any coach or spectator would expect a violation here.
|
-- That's not much of a basis for a correct rule interpretation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
No one bats an eye if there's no whistle.
|
-- That's not much of a basis for a correct rule interpretation.
This . . .
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
...some interpretation published seven years ago...
|
. . . was what they published so that no one would be able to say this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo
...the rules just don't seem to support a BC violation here.
|
But alas, confusion still exists, and perhaps for good reason. I mean if the respected and regarded individuals posting above disagree with each other on this, that should really call for the NFHS to clean up this rule!
I wouldn't disagree either way. Just make it simple for all to immediately understand and accept. And give me a good basis for a correct rule interpretation.