View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 11:34am
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Close, but not specifically correct.
There is TC under NFHS rules during a throw-in. So when A2 touches the ball, it now has frontcourt status and there is TC by team A.

The real reason that this is not a violation is that certain violations can only occur after PLAYER control is established INBOUNDS. A backcourt violation is one of those. 3-second and 10-second violations are two others.

There is team control during a throwin however, the throw in ended when the ball was touched by A2. The rule says however that team control continues until the ball is secured. the rule was created ONLY to avoid shooting free throws when the throw in team fouls (other than intentional/flagrant) before the ball is secured after a throw in.

I recommend you keep team control during throwin etc completely separate from team control IN bounds. Just remember, after you hand the ball to the thrower in, any foul, other than intentional or flagrant, committed by the throw in team before the ball is secured will result in ball out of bounds, no free throws.
once the ball is secured, you have player and team control and now it is time to think about other violations as mentioned by Nevada. this is nfhs.

Last edited by BigCat; Wed Nov 26, 2014 at 02:30pm.
Reply With Quote