View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2014, 11:05am
so cal lurker so cal lurker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Close, but not specifically correct.
There is TC under NFHS rules during a throw-in. So when A2 touches the ball, it now has frontcourt status and there is TC by team A.

The real reason that this is not a violation is that certain violations can only occur after PLAYER control is established INBOUNDS. A backcourt violation is one of those. 3-second and 10-second violations are two others.
Going a bit off topic with what I gather is an easy question I just didn't know . . . 12 seconds left in game with clock stopped, A inbounding in backcourt. A1 throws a bad pass to A2, who defelcts ball and chases it, no one on team B touches the ball, but it takes three seconds for a player on A to grab the ball. So, there would be no 10 second violation, even though they ate up the final 12 seconds run off the clock all in the back court?
Reply With Quote