Response per Arbiter:
1. On A-1's throw-in from Team A's front court, A-2 catches the ball in the air and lands first with a foot in the front court followed by the other foot in the backcourt. Ruling: Legal play.
The correct answer is TRUE. Rule 9-13.10.
2. A-1 is in the act of shooting when A-2 fouls B-2 before A-1's shot is released. The shot is successful. Ruling: Do not count the goal and award B-2 the appropriate free throws if Team B is in the bonus. Otherwise, award the ball to Team Bat a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
The correct answer is FALSE. Rule 6-5.1.f, 10-1 Penalty a.
3. After being verbally abused by a fan along the sideline, A-1 leaves the court to confront the fan and verbally abuses the fan. Ruling- Since there was no physical contact with the fan by A-1, the officials should assess A-1 with a Class A unsporting technical foul. Ruling: The correct answer is that a flagrant technical foul should be assessed. However, since flagrant technical fouls are also listed under Class A Unsporting Technical Infractions in Rule 10-3, both TRUE and FALSE answers will be considered correct.
4. On a designated spot throw-in, the thrower-in must always keep at least one foot on or over the designated spot. T-F
The correct answer is FALSE. Once the ball is released by the thrower-in and crosses the plane of the sideline/end line, the designated spot restrictions are no longer in effect even though the throw-in may not have ended. Rule 7-6.8.c & .d.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|