Can someone clarify the rules on this?
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to the forum and joined specifically to see if someone could clarify something for me that's driving me nuts. First, I played football through college, am an avid fan, coached youth football for many years, etc. I generally understand the rules. My son plays on a D3 college team here in the Midwest. At his game on Saturday there was a 3rd and 15 play where the refs called an ineligible receiver downfield on the offense and then called pass interference on the defense. After a little discussion they picked up the pass interference flag and ruled the pass un-catchable. Our coach then declines the ineligible receiver penalty to bring up 4th and 20, right? I believe the ref actually announced it that way, but we then had another long discussion amongst the refs and ultimately re-played 3rd down. I actually saw the down marker guy flip to 4th down and then had to flip it back to 3rd. How does that scenario not bring up 4th down?
Thanks.
Jason
|