View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 24, 2014, 07:55pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post

I have R2 going back to 1b on this play? Why? If the R2 had not been obstructed and was tagged out sliding back into second, R1 would have legally attained the base. When you are awarding the base to R2 as a result of the obstruction, you need to put the R1 back to first base because at that point he has been affected by the obstruction.

How was the trailing runner affected by the OBS? The umpire has judged that had the OBS not occurred, the runner would have returned to 2B anyway, so the trailing runner would have been tagged out whether there was OBS or not
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote