View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2014, 02:19pm
Welpe Welpe is offline
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juxone View Post
"It is never a penalty if the offensive player is acting like a blocker. Then the defender can hit them if they are an eligible receiver, unless of course the ball is in the air and in the direction of that receiver. "

I am actually talking about an offensive player who is or appears to be running a route and does NOT attempt to make contact with B-- Offensive player runs 10 yards and makes a post and is contacted by B before the pass .. ??
The generally accepted interpretation is that if a receiver is before or on the same yard line as the defender, it is legal to block him. This is codified at least in the NCAA rules but I don't believe it is in NFHS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juxone View Post
I think the part of "..If the receiver is clearly running a route, then you have to have a foul." answers my question, it is a foul regardless and if the ball is in the air it become DPI??
If the ball is in the air and in the direction of the receiver, it is a DPI. If it is thrown away from the receiver then it is nothing.

Quote:
So if the ball is NOT in the air what is the call?? Holding?
If the ball is not in the air it's either holding or illegal use of the hands. Holding if he's grabbed and restricted, illegal use of the hands if he's simply blocked while no longer a potential blocker as defined above.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote