Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
Section 3 Substitution (Verbatim the rule book)
Art. 1...a substitute who desires to enter shall report to the scorers, giving his/her number AND the number of the player who is being replaced.
|
In my four years of clock and book, in hundreds of games, even when the sub tells us who (s)he is reporting for, we ignore it. There is no place in the book to record this, and so we don't. The rules say we only keep track of who enters the game, not for whom.
Quote:
This implies that the reporting player MUST substitute for the player that he/she says he/she is replacing. Maybe I'm overanalyzing the book? Is B6, as you say, REQUIRED to report for B2, or can coach B change his mind after the fact? I can't find a reference in the rule book or case book!
[Edited by Indy_Ref on Dec 21st, 2000 at 11:04 AM]
|
I think you're overanalyzing, IMHO. For the casebook (slightly different play), look at 3.3.1C (pg 15).