View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2014, 01:30pm
Paul L Paul L is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
After seeing the play, I agree. The correct ruling would be to put the runner back on 3b, thus moving the runners back 1. We now have 2 outs and the bases loaded.

The one thing I don't see in the rules is the replay official can declare an out for a runner who obviously would have been out on the play had the umpires call not been reversed.
You don't think "place both Clubs in the position they would have been in" allows calling an obvious out?

My first guess would be that the replay officials did not want to call an out unless they were pretty damn sure, and they weren't.

My second guess is they didn't have the nerve.
Reply With Quote