Thread: Catch and Carry
View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2014, 09:45pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS Softball Rules Book
If a fielder contacts dead ball territory with any part of the body except the foot, she is considered out of play. No play is allowed, and the penalty is applied.


NFHS 5-1-i(d) says exactly that.

NCAA 9.3 Note 5 says the same thing.

Perhaps ASA is somewhat silent on the topic (or I can't find it ), but I'm not seeing any ambiguity at all in the NFHS (or NCAA) rule.
And to me, that makes no sense. If anything, the foot being fully in contact with DBT is the definition of leaving playable territory.

And again, have you ever seen the OF touch the top or back of a fence and be ruled out of play?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote