Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra
I emailed a guy on the Nfhs rules comittee, he said catch, then dead ball when the ball in the glove was grounded.
|
I disagree with that ruling. If that's the case, then anytime the ball is in the glove over the fence, and the glove touches something on that side of the fence, it's a dead ball.
For example, a fielder reaches into the stands to catch a foul pop. She makes the catch, and then her glove hits a number of fans' hands and arms as they reached for the ball as well. Or she reaches over the fence and catches the ball, and then her glove contacts something beyond the fence, like the bullpen netting, the back of a bleacher chair, etc, etc.
Are you going to rule a dead ball in those situations? I hope not. And I don't see how you would in this case either.