View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2014, 08:24am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Ok, had this play today. Runners at first and second. Looper is hit behind first base and goes off the glove of the F4. Wasn't an infield fly situation due to the fact it was not reasonable effort to catch the ball, it would have been a very good diving catch. Anyway, due to the possibility of a catch, R2 (on first) does not take off for 2nd, until the ball hits. F4 picks up the ball and throws to second. F6 is catches the ball, steps on the base and then applies a tag to R2 coming from first to second. As she tags the runner (about half second after touching the base) the ball comes out. I call the runner out on a force out, which sends the offensive team and fans balistic.

After talking to my partners (3 man on a JV game) following the game, we all agreed that it was the correct call. She had possession when she caught the ball and it was a subsequent action (tagging the retired runner), that caused the ball to come out. Correct call? I am basing my ruling in part based on the previous discussion we had about this. I felt there was enough time to indicate a catch of the ball and that a subsequent act, the tag caused the ball to come loose.
Easy call. Stupid coach. And you really shouldn't be questioning yourself on this one at all.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote