Inform the state interpreter to take a look at NFHS Case Play 7.1.2H (emphasis in red is mine):
7.1.2 SITUATION H: Batter B1 is due up but B2 bats instead. B2 hits a ground ball and is (a) safe at first or (b) thrown out at first. The defensive team properly appeals batting out of order. RULING: In both (a) and (b), the player who should have batted, B1 is declared out by the umpire and B2's turn at bat is nullified. In (a), B2 is removed from first base. In both (a) and (b), B2 is now the proper batter and bats again with one out and no runners on base. (7-1-2 Penalty)
Note that the out at first base in (b) doesn't count. The only out recorded is on B1 for failing to bat in the proper order.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
|