Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
|
If the ball is already in flight, he doesn't have rules support to cancel the try! In that particular circumstance, even a whistle would not cancel the try because it is already in flight.
He can stop it before the release.
Here is the NFHS Case Book play providing this principle:
6.7.5 SITUATION:
A1 is at the free-throw line for the second of two attempts. After the ball is at A1's disposal, B1 commits a lane violation. The administering official inadvertently sounds his/her whistle: (a) before A1 starts the free-throw motion; (b) after the ball has been released; or (c) during A1's motion but before release of the ball.
RULING: Whether or not the whistle was sounded inadvertently it has the same result. In (a) and (c), the ball becomes dead immediately. In (b), the whistle does not cause the ball to become dead until the free throw ends. Because B1 violated, in all cases, a substitute throw is awarded if the free-throw attempt by A1 is unsuccessful. (4-20-3)