View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 09:20am
MechanicGuy MechanicGuy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I saw the play. The play is still legal...that throw against the backboard is a try.

*added*
You should look at the basketball rules fundamentals:

S. A ball that touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that, when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute a part of the dribble.

The play in question would only be a violation if he was throwing the ball off his opponent's backboard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Per NFHS 4-41-2, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal."

That is not a try, that is an intentional self pass. Thus, travelling.
Well now I'm more confused.

So it's not a dribble.

And in my judgement, it's not a try.

What the hell is it? Can the player dribble again?

I'm fine with the interpretation that it's a legal play, I'm just trying to fully understand why.
Reply With Quote