Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Not true. Any violation by the throwing team DURING the throw-in results in the AP arrow switching.
However, you are right that there is a way to preserve the arrow for later, if the team so desires--simply foul during the throw-in!
|
You are correct. I was looking at ART 4 of the AP rule that is about reversing the arrow when the throwin ends (which then refers to 4-42-5 about how a throwin ends) but ART 5 covers all violations.
The fouling case is not a freebie as it counts toward the team fouls. In most games, a foul at the end of the quarter (1st and 3rd) would likely be before the bonus and it would probably resulting in giving the other team bonus FTs sooner than they would have received them. Is a possession worth 2 FTs (on a later foul)?
I guess their only resort might be to entice the other team into some sort of infraction.