View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2014, 09:09am
scrounge scrounge is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I hope this was a regular season game, and that this official will not be working any postseason games.

TI ends when legally touched or the throw-in team violates. And if Team A had committed the foul, the arrow also would have stayed with A.

So you are right.
I thought if A committed a violation on their throw-in that they indeed would lose the arrow. Would this be the applicable case play?

6.4.5 SITUATION A:

Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation.


RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.

COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)

*******************************************

EDITED TO ADD: Never mind, violation <> foul. Doh.
Reply With Quote