Thread: Weird situation
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 04:30am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor View Post
I don't necessarily have BI. You say, As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net..

What's the intent of the rule? If the ball is through the basket but still in bottom of net, did touching net affect the ball?
Probably not, but you can't know that. Until it drops through, it has the possibility of getting flipped back out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor View Post
As I see this in my head, ball is in bottom of net and I got nothing. If still on rim, obviously yet but from what I read in your post I say count basket, shoot one. Warn A player he could have been called for BI if he touched net before ball went through. If I'm reading it wrong, then my reply would be different.
Practically, I'm probably doing nothing if it is falling through the bottom of the net....but if is still up in the net, it has to be BI.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote