
Mon Jan 27, 2014, 07:55pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
In this case play, BI is called. The analogous situation for the OP would be if the trail official had called the ball OOB and the other official, oblivious to the call, informed the table (maybe they asked him because they were also oblivious) that the basket should count.
In the OP, the violation is not called. As others have stated, it's the same as going back and calling the travel or other violation later.
Example:
BC throwin, A2 takes the pass and dribbles towards the wrong basket. He picks up his dribble and shoots at the wrong hoop, misses, and moves to retrieve the rebound. He gets the rebound and shoots again, making the basket.
A coach requests a TO to correct a CE, knowing that the official should have called traveling on A2 and thus the score should not have counted.
There are any number of violations that could get missed because the calling official just didn't know the rule, you can't go back and call them later.
|
Illegal dribble.
|