View Single Post
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 23, 2014, 01:45am
JetMetFan JetMetFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
JetMet, looks to me like you blew at 20. Isn't the violation supposed to occur at 19, due to 30 not being a whole second?
As Bob said, for NCAAW the violation occurs when the shot-clock reads :20 or on the tenth second after the ball is legally touched inbounds, whichever applies. That's the interpretation we received from the moment the rule was established.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I would have asked them to turn one set off, either the on the backboards or the one on the wall. It sucks that the sticking problem was occurring, but I think it got compounded by having two clocks on each end that could potentially have different times. I would rather have one set and deal with those problems than try to reconcile two sets on each end.
By rule (1-19-2 to be exact) "two visible shot clocks are required, and shall be recessed and mounted on the backboard supports behind each backboard." 1-19-3 calls for an "alternate timing device" to be available if the visible clock malfunctions but there's the rub: the visible clocks did work. They jumped but the horn went off at 30 seconds. The fact the alternate - and hard-wired - shot-clocks were having issues made it a tough decision. Our R figured we were better off with all four active. One of the alternates had to be shut down because it started jumping worse than those on the backboards. At any rate, both teams were willing to deal.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote